Leadership Vs Management

Whats the difference? During a class last semester we were comparing the two, when I gave my thought that leadership was leading people and management was managing resources. This definitely caused and uproar in the class, as managers quickly informed me that they lead people also. “Critically thinking” this would allow people to understand that they can be both  manager and a leader though, so I will stick to my guns.  

Leadership is leading people to accomplish a task. When you are dealing with people you lead them to attain their goals. You lead them to accomplish missions or tasks. Leadership is setting the example for others to follow. Leadership is motivating, mentoring, and influencing others. This has always been a skill set of mine. I ensure that my Sailors become the best that they can be. I encourage them to achieve their goals and set the example by achieving mine.

Businessdictionary.com defines management as “The organization and coordination of the activities of a business in order to achieve defined objectives. Management is often included as a factor of production along with‚ machines, materials, and money.” You manage the resources, and lead the people. The two are very much intertwined and an effective manager must effectively lead the people also. This is an area that I can do better in. I lead people well, yet have trouble at times managing the systems that I must use for work. I can get the most out of my Sailors, but am I getting the most out of myself.
Continued process improvement. Knowing where we can improve makes us better, and admitting that improvement can be made is even more beneficial.
http://www.businessdictionary.com/definition/management.html#ixzz2sYigDOYL 

Leave a Reply

