“The most bas…

“The most basic and powerful way to connect to another person is to listen. Just listen. Perhaps the most important thing we ever give each other is our attention.” -Rachel Naomi Remen

Find more at: http://www.skillsyouneed.com/ips/listening-skills.html#ixzz2rnRO9zld

How effectively do we as managers listen? Communicating is a two way street where listening is vital. How many times have you talked to your supervisor about “apples” and yet he or she responded with a description of “oranges”? I often find myself tuning out conversations when I have gotten the jest of it. Did I miss something? Who knows. I have often considered myself to be a good listener, but was I really a good hearer instead? I dont think I have picked up on everything that was said because I wasn’t reading or listening to the whole conversation. I need to work at being keen to the non-verbal communications as well. This is something that I am tasking myself to do. Every morning we have a meeting at 9 am. This mornings meeting I will listen to the whole meeting and not just hear it.

Leave a Reply

