“The task of a …

“The task of a leader is to get his people from where they are to where they have not been.”- Henry Kissinger

Henry Kissinger understood that it was hard to get people to do something that they had never done before. Getting people to step outside of their comfort zones can be difficult because people tend to gravitate towards what they are more use to. I have used an example many times when dealing with my Sailors. I have asked them that if I told them to go into a room where no one is around and to do as many push-ups as they can how many do they think they will do? Now put them in a room with influencers or their peers and do as many push-ups as possible. In which circumstance do they think they will accomplish more push-ups? when they are in the room alone, they will accomplish as many as they can until they start to feel uncomfortable and will more than likely stop at that point. When around others, they will push beyond their comfort point and probably accomplish more.

I have known people that started blogs on their perspectives of current events. In one instance the author of the blog gave his definitions or ideas of leadership. In reality this persons idea of leadership was not one that I would have necessarily agreed with. I never stepped out of my comfort zone though to create my own blog on what I feel leadership is; that is until I was directed to as a class assignment. Now I have a forum to discuss what I feel is leadership, and ways to improve myself and others on their task of leading people.

Leave a Reply

